Things I love, Episode 1.

Okay, so this is supposed to be a fashion blog. Soon, I’ll start posting pics of outfits, thrift finds and celeb inspirations. Today, however, I want to talk about 2 things: trends, and silver jewelry. To begin, I am completely with the attitude that everyone’s closets should be filled with classic items, trendy items, and also personality items. By personality items, I mean clothes/jewelry/accessories that aren’t necessarily completely on trend, but that hold a special story, are exceptionally flattering and/or say something about your personal style. For me, funky jewelry tends to act as the personality item in each of my outfits. I am a huge fan of vintage or antique jewelry, of both the silver and gold variety, although I wear these silver pieces more:

silver jewelryNotice that they are all relatively tarnished, and that the feather ring is missing some stones. This is because the necklace was actually a very inexpensive find at American Eagle Outfitters. The feather ring was my grandmother’s, and some of the Marcasite stones have fallen out. The black Onyx ring was a gift from my mother, and the swirly steel thumb ring belonged to my brother when he was very young. I also usually wear a dainty antique silver cuff from the 60’s, which isn’t pictured. I love jewelry that has a story, and especially when it comes to these rings, each are important to me for various reasons. Together, the jewelry forms sort of a bohemian rif-raff that won’t necessarily be trendy forever. Notice, for example, that the necklace isn’t a chunky statement collar necklace (which are super on trend right now, but completely hopeless for top heavy people). The long chained pendant style is much more flattering on me.

So! The moral of this story is that sometimes you have to wear things because they say something about YOU beyond an uncanny ability to flawlessly follow trends. Also, vintage jewelry rules.

Leave a Reply

