Style Stars: SJP, Carrie Bradshaw

carrie

Sorry guys, I couldn’t resist. Besides living by a few life and style mantras that I absolutely adore/relate to, Carrie Bradshaw combines high fashion with a unique personal style to create something luxe, over-the-top and genuinely Carrie. There is nothing that I appreciate more than someone who isn’t afraid to look ridiculous, but never does–because the greatest style secret of all is simple: confidence can make the wildest look a wearable one. So! Without further ado, a few favorite looks and quotes from the iconic star of Sex and the City. None of the photos included are my own; all were found on Pinterest.

carriewhitedress

“When real people fall down in life, they get right back up and keep on walking.”

Sometimes the most fabulous people fall the most (heels perhaps contributing), but Carrie is far from being a quitter. One of the things I love so much about this first look is the simplicity of it. Carrie is known to rock elaborate costumey ensembles, but this rad lbd shows off her great bod and the more relaxed side of her fashion sense. It’s one of my favorites:

carrie lbd

“I like my money where I can see it – hanging in my closet.”

Recently house-sitting, I stayed in and had a Sex and the City marathon. One of the things that has stuck in my mind since said marathon is Carrie’s awesome ability to accessorize the casual with dressy, and vice versa. After seeing this stacked pearl look, I’ve added vintage pearl costume jewelry to my list of must-haves:

carriepearls

“The universe may not always play fair, but at least it’s got a hell of a sense of humor.”

One of my favorite personality pieces that Carrie Bradshaw wears throughout the course of SATC is unexpected–the tutu. Now, I am not saying that I personally would don one of these for a date with the likes of Mr. Big, nor for wandering the streets of any city I’ve ever been to. However, Sarah Jessica Parker looks AWESOME in a tutu. This blue one is beautiful on her–further evidencing the importance of wearing things that say something about who you are, and not always being a slave to trends:

carrietutu

Maybe our girlfriends are our soulmates and guys are just people to have fun with.”

Rather than putting all of the focus on Carrie’s clothing alone, I feel as though I have to comment on one of my favorite hairstyles of any television character ever: that crazy bob. I am in love with Carrie’s crazy curls and waves (perhaps because I struggle with waves of my own). Isn’t this a gorge haircut?

carriebob

“They say nothing lasts forever; dreams change, trends come and go, but friendships never go out of style.”

This next look is absolutely and totally impractical for daily life, and I am not suggesting that we all go out and purchase massive ballgowns to wear with an imaginary French artist lover our first night in Paris. But! This dress is magical and infinitely glamorous, and I couldn’t do a fashion post about Carrie Bradshaw without including it:

carries-1st-night-in-paris

“After all, seasons change, so do cities; people come into your life and people go. But it’s comforting to know that the ones you love are always in your heart. And if you’re very lucky, a plane ride away.”

Perhaps I am biased about this next season 6 look because I am obsessed with black leather boots, and own a pair very similar to these. This outfit is also very trendy, even a few years later, and shows perhaps a more sophisticated side of Carrie than is seen in earlier seasons. In spite of the understated nature of this look, the coat and touch of pink show that the character never strays too far from her distinctive personal style:

carrieboots

“Shopping is my cardio.”

Finally, beret and all, I just had to include this fabulous picture and quote from Pinterest:

carrieshopping

That’s all I’ve got for today about Ms. Bradshaw (God knows I could put a thousand more outfits on here). Peace all.

 

Leave a Reply

